Skip to main content


Overview of the Faculty

The Faculty of Environmental Sciences is one of the first four pioneer faculties in the University. The faulty was formally instituted in 1990 when the University was established, with late Professor S.O.A. Adesina (mnia) was the foundation Dean. The faculty is designated as a three Department Faculty in the phase one of the University’s Development Plan. It is to offer programmes in Architecture, Fine and Applied Arts, and Urban and Regional Planning. The Foundation Department in the Faculty is the Department of Architecture, established in 1990, while the two other Departments were established in 1992. The three new Departments were established in 2021 to offer programmes in Building, Estate Management, and Surveying and Geoinformatics in the Second Phase of Development of the University.

Postgraduate programmes commenced in the faculty at the beginning of 2001/2002 academic session. There are currently Postgraduate degree programmes in the Departments of Architecture, Fine and Applied Arts and Urban and Regional Planning at PGD, M.Tech, M.Phil, and PhD level.